Prof. Dr. Alexander Brenning

GIScience
Univ.-Prof. Dr.
Alexander Brenning
Phone
+49 3641 9-48850
Fax
+49 3641 9-48852
Alexander Brenning
Room 135 A
Grietgasse 6
07743 Jena

As a quantitative geographer and GIScientist, my research focuses on spatial statistical and computational tools and their application in a variety of contexts, in particular mountain geomorphology and environmental remote sensing. My spatial approach to the assessment of classification and regression methods has been instrumental in a variety of applications and international collaborations mainly related to landslide susceptibility, mountain permafrost distribution and remotely-sensed land cover classification. My mountain permafrost research also involves field studies on the dynamics of rock glaciers in the dry Andes. Driven by my spatial modeling research, I have published free software extensions for the statistical software R that integrate R with GIS software and implement spatial accuracy assessment and variable importance techniques.
My research contributes to the critical problem of developing reliable empirical models of environmental variables as a basis for decision-making in spatial planning and land management. The assessment of model uncertainties is of particular importance and needs to account for the spatial nature of spatial analysis problems. Accessible, open-source implementations of statistical and computational methods are furthermore a prerequisite for the widespread adoption of innovative spatial analysis techniques in different application domains.

Key research areas Show content
  • Computational statistics and machine learning for geographical research
  • Applied spatial modeling: natural hazards, mountain permafrost, precision agriculture, ecology
  • Cryosphere of the Andes
Teaching Show content

I enjoy teaching courses related to geographical information systems and environmental statistics to students of geography and GIScience, from year 1 to the graduate level, in German and in English.

Service Show content

I am serving as Dean of the Faculty of Chemistry and Earth Sciences of Friedrich Schiller University since October 2017. I previously chaired the Geography undergraduate examinations committee since 2014, which I am still a member of, and was Vice-Dean of the Faculty since October 2016. Until 2014 I was member of Senate of the University of Waterloo for a couple of years.

Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University in social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the Best Practice Club "Family at the University"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
Top of the page

Prof. Dr. Alexander Brenning

Lehrstuhl Geoinformatik
Univ.-Prof. Dr.
Alexander Brenning
Telefon
+49 3641 9-48850
Fax
+49 3641 9-48852
Sprechzeiten:
Montag 14:00 bis 16:00 Uhr
Alexander Brenning
Raum 135 A
Grietgasse 6
07743 Jena

Als quantitativer Geograph und Geoinformatiker beschäftige ich mich mit Methoden der räumlichen Statistik und Geodatenverarbeitung und ihrer Anwendung in verschiedenen Bereichen, insbesondere der Gebirgsgeomorphologie und der Umweltfernerkundung. Mein räumlicher Ansatz für die Gütebewertung von Klassifikations- und Regressionsmethoden kommt in einer Reihe von Anwendungen und internationalen Kooperationen zum Tragen, insbesondere im Bereich der Modellierung von Hangrutschen und Gebirgspermafrost, oder in der Landbedeckungsklassifikation. Meine Gebirgsforschung umfasst auch das Monitoring von Blockgletschern in den trockenen Anden. Basierend auf meiner Forschung habe ich freie Software-Erweiterungen veröffentlicht, die die statistische Software R mit GIS-Software verbinden und räumliche Schätzung der Güte von Modellvorhersagen erlauben.
Meine Forschung ist ein Beitrag zur Entwicklung verlässlicher empirischer Modelle von Umweltvariablen als Grundlage für die Entscheidungsfindung in Raumplanung und Ressourcenmanagement. Die Bewertung von Unsicherheiten räumlicher Modelle ist dabei von grundlegender Bedeutung und erfordert die Berücksichtigung der Besonderheiten räumlicher Daten. Freie, offene Implementierungen von Methoden der Umweltstatistik und Geoinformatik sind dabei eine Voraussetzung für die weitere Verbreitung innovativer Methoden der räumlichen Analyse in unterschiedlichen Anwendungen.

Forschungsschwerpunkte Inhalt einblenden
  • Methoden der rechnergestützen Statistik und des Maschinellen Lernens für geographische Fragestellungen
  • Angewandte räumliche Modellierung: Naturgefahren, Gebirgspermafrost, Präzisionslandwirtschaft, Ökologie
  • Kryosphäre der Anden
Lehre Inhalt einblenden

Geographische Informationssysteme und Umweltstatistik bilden die Schwerpunkte meiner Lehre für Studierende der Geographie und Geoinformatik vom ersten Studienjahr bis zum Master-Niveau.

Wissenschaftliche Selbstverwaltung Inhalt einblenden

Als Dekan leite ich seit Oktober 2017 die Chemisch-Geowissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität. Zuvor war ich seit 2014 als Vorsitzender des Bachelor-Prüfungsausschusses für Geographie, dem ich weiterhin angehöre, und diente der Fakultät seit Oktober 2016 als Prodekan. Bis 2014 war ich Mitglied im Senat der University of Waterloo, Kanada.

Diese Seite teilen
Die Uni Jena in den sozialen Medien:
Ausgezeichnet studieren:
  • Logo der Initiative "Total E-Quality"
  • Logo des Best Practice-Club "Familie in der Hochschule"
  • Logo des Projekts "Partnerhochschule des Spitzensports"
Zurück zum Seitenanfang